Students in Years 7 to 12 at Galstaun College are in the High School, which has its own precinct slightly separate to the rest of the school but located all within the one campus.

At Galstaun, students in High School are challenged to develop their critical and creative thinking skills in readiness for their final senior journey. High School at Galstaun is broken into three stages:

  • Stage Four – Year 7 and Year 8
  • Stage Five – Year 9 and Year 10
  • Stage Six – Year 11 and Year 12

Students in Years 7-9 are provided with guidance with respect to their adolescent development with students in Years 10-12 also guided in their choice of subjects and careers.

In High School, students are offered a rich and diverse curriculum, ensuring that they have choice and flexibility in regards to what they study. Our small classes, pastoral care and mentoring program ensure that students are provided with the knowledge, skills and understanding to succeed at school and beyond.

Students are encouraged to contribute to the life of the College by participating in a variety of co-curricular and extra-curricular activities where they can develop their talents and pursue their interests.

In recent years, Galstaun College has achieved outstanding results in both HSC and NAPLAN, which reinforces our commitment to ensure that every student works to their full potential.

High School Subjects

In Stage Four, students study a full range of mandatory subjects, which include English, Mathematics, Science, Australian History and Geography, Civics and Citizenship, Technology, Visual Arts, Music, Physical Education, Personal Development, Armenian Language and Religious Education.

In Stage Five, students choose two elective subjects from Commerce, Performing Arts, Visual Arts, Design and Technology, and Information and Software Technology. Specialist rooms, teaching facilities and laboratories are available for the teaching of Science, Design and Technology, Computing Studies, Art and Ceramics.

In Stage Six, students select subjects that lead to the HSC including:

  • English (Standard and Advanced)
  • Mathematics (General, 2 Unit, Extension 1 and Extension 2)
  • Modern History (Extension)
  • Ancient History
  • Legal Studies
  • Business Studies
  • Visual Arts
  • Drama
  • Design and Technology
  • Physics
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Information Processes and Technology
  • In addition to a range of VET courses and other subjects offered by outside providers.
Go to Top